Should I Report Distracted Driving in Maryland?

Let's Get Started
On Your Case

self driving car

Certain forms of distracted driving are not necessarily considered illegal in the state of Maryland. But this does not mean you do not have to report any sitings of it, as such reckless behavior may eventually lead to a car accident. Follow along to find out why you should report distracted driving in Maryland and how a proficient St. Mary’s County car accident lawyer at The Dorsey Law Firm can help you fall victim to such an accident.

Why should I report distracted driving?

You should call 911 to report any distracted driving you witness on the Maryland roads. This is regardless of whether or not such distracted driving leads to your direct involvement in a car accident. At the very least, your report may protect other innocent drivers on the road from incurring injuries and damages. Or, it may solidify their evidence in their personal injury claim if a crash does occur. Without further ado, you may report any of the following forms of distracted driving:

  • Applying makeup in the rearview mirror while driving.
  • Talking or texting on a cell phone while driving.
  • Navigating a GPS while driving.
  • Eating food or drinking beverages while driving.
  • Looking at passengers in conversation while driving.

What are the penalties for distracted driving in the state of Maryland?

To reiterate, distracted driving is not technically illegal in Maryland. However, it is indeed illegal to read, write, or send a text message while driving; along with using a handheld mobile device for calls while driving. The following penalties apply for distracted driving caused by cell phone use:

  • Using a handheld mobile drive for calls while driving:
    • First violation: $83 in fines and court costs.
    • Second violation: $140 in fines and court costs.
    • Third violation: $175 in fines and court costs.
  • Reading, writing, or sending a text message while driving:
    • If no accident occurs: $70 in fines and 1 point added to the driver’s license.
    • If an accident occurs: $110 in fines and 3 points added to the driver’s license.
  • Cell phone use that causes serious bodily injuries or death:
    • A fine of up to $5,000.
    • A prison sentence of up to three years.

Generally speaking, a driver should understand their responsibility to practice safe driving; thereby remaining completely attentive while behind the wheel. Anything less than this may be considered negligent driving. This may not have them facing jail time, fines, or points added to their driver’s license. But it may have them facing other types of penalties in a personal injury claim. Specifcally, this may entail having to pay a plaintiff’s medical bills, car repair damages, and legal fees, along with punitive damages.

This is all to say that you should not hesitate to bring your own claim forward. Following through with your distracted driving injury claim may take a lot of time and commitment. But if you hire a talented St. Mary’s County auto accident lawyer, much of this burden will be taken off your shoulders. So reach out to The Dorsey Law Firm today.